Author Topic: DM10 - VST setup from scratch  (Read 3768 times)

DM10 - VST setup from scratch
« on: September 25, 2017, 02:56:06 PM »
Hey everyone,

I'm brand new to drumming and picked up a DM10 X kit over the weekend. I'm looking to immediately get a VST set up for better sounds. I've read the stickied posts, and can't find a straight answer as to what I'm looking for exactly.

So far I have:
A laptop
DM10 X Studio Kit

I am looking for a list of ALL software & hardware I require to make this happen. I see a lot of different options in the sticky, but I'm not sure what is necessary.

Do I just need:
Studio Drummer 3 (or similar)
Toontrack Solo (or similar)
USB plug from DM10 to Laptop

Is there anything else I need? Do I need an audio interface, does it matter what kind of audio interface it is? What does the interface do? Will a sound card on my laptop or PC suffice?

Thanks for all and any help I can get!

Re: DM10 - VST setup from scratch
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 02:05:29 AM »
Hi pandaonamic,

The set up I use is a Toshiba Satellite Radius laptop with 12 gigs of ram, a 256 gb ssd hard drive and an I7 quad core processor. It is connected to the DM 10 via usb cable and I run Superior Drummer 2 through ToonTrack Solo. I use an "asio4all" driver on the laptop and the laptops' audio out is ran through a stereo channel of my mixer via a "Stereo Breakout 3.5 mm TRS to Dual 1/4 in TS" cable.
It works really well and I experience no latency at all with this set up.
YMMV depending on your laptop specs.
Hope this helps.

powerhouse

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2017, 06:15:26 AM »
You may not need an audio interface, try it through your computer first to see what sort of latency you have.  I have a PC with a load of RAM, a really fast processor, a huge hard drive, and there's loads of latency.  My cheap laptop with half the RAM, ok processor, and a tiny solid state hard drive has no latency at all.