Author Topic: Cables inside the rack  (Read 2788 times)

Offline Dobly

Cables inside the rack
« on: November 15, 2018, 04:26:46 PM »

After weeks of cutting wire, stripping, tinning and soldering I have finally finished rewiring my DM10X rack to do away with the cable snake forever.

I have dozens of photos of this project. In a few days I'll add a new post to the DIY forum.

This project is not that technically difficult. If you can solder, you can do this. But it took me weeks and weeks, a bit here and a bit there.

Re: Cables inside the rack
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2018, 04:00:14 AM »
I am so jealous. As a retired electrician I really hate to see wires anywhere and I have gone to a lot of pain to keep the wires on my Commander out of site. However I am 70 years old and yesterday I took my set apart and rebuilt it to make the frame stronger. I finally figured out the proper way to build the frame. It took me a couple of hours and wore me out (I have emphysema and arthritis) so the idea of rewiring the set like you have is very appealing but totally out of the question for me. But you did a very nice job. I am very impressed. Please post some more photos and torture me even more.

Offline Dobly

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2018, 05:31:21 AM »
I am so jealous. As a retired electrician I really hate to see wires anywhere and I have gone to a lot of pain to keep the wires on my Commander out of site. However I am 70 years old and yesterday I took my set apart and rebuilt it to make the frame stronger. I finally figured out the proper way to build the frame. It took me a couple of hours and wore me out (I have emphysema and arthritis) so the idea of rewiring the set like you have is very appealing but totally out of the question for me. But you did a very nice job. I am very impressed. Please post some more photos and torture me even more.

Thanks Seiler.. I hate the wires too. It pained me to run cables right up the cymbal arms to plug in the crashes.