Author Topic: couple of covers with my DM10X  (Read 1801 times)

Offline AlanK

couple of covers with my DM10X
« on: January 24, 2020, 01:26:17 PM »
Alright, I'm starting to delve back into recording some covers on my kit.. thought I'd share a couple recent attempts and chime into a conversation that was going on a while ago about how we record ourselves. I'm still learning, not too good at it and need better equipment.

So first of all, I've got the DM10X kit, which I've put on some salmon sparkle wraps on the pad sides (actually bedroom wall borders from Walmart, cut to size). I've got a pair of extra Pearl cymbal pads which are the same as the Alesis but have the Pearl emblem on them. I've got a Laurin snare and kick drum in brown woodgrain. I'm using Addictive Drums 2 exclusively for the last few years, incredible kit sounds although sadly these recordings don't reproduce the true beauty of their sound and response. My first test recordings I listened to the song tracks with my earbuds (headphone pads are shredding, if not I would have used them) but my buds cord was starting to fall when I turned my body or head and would fall out of my ears so I've been trying with the music and my drums coming out of a pair of Simons monitors on stands (they're great for the price btw, and really kick ass).