Author Topic: Nitro Mesh Kit - low output volume  (Read 510 times)

Nitro Mesh Kit - low output volume
« on: February 04, 2022, 11:38:25 AM »
Hi all, fist time posting.
I'm a total noob, started studying a few months ago with a Nitro Mesh Kit.
I always used headphones, but now I'd like to use an active speaker every now and then, nothing special, nothing like stage monitors and such, just a decent speaker (or pair of speakers) that sounds louder than the noise of the sticks hitting the drum heads.

The problem is that whatever I try the volume is incredibly low.
First I tried the PreSonus Eris E3.5 studio monitors. Connected with two TRS cables the volume was so low it wasn't even louder than the sticks hitting the drum heads. Then I tried connecting the headphones output of the Nitro to the RCA unbalanced input of the PreSonus Eris E3.5 and it was a bit better, but volume knobs had to be almost on max and the speakers were shutting off every few minutes (probably because of some sort of protection).
So I tried one M-Audio BX5 D3 studio speaker that comes with two separate amplifiers, 60 watt+40watt for woofer and tweeter. Same problem with both a single TRS cable in the L-mono and a 1/8" to 1/4" TRS cable in the headphones output, the volume is incredibly low and the speaker gets very hot.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I use a DI-box? Should I go through a mixer?
Maybe a simple headphones amplifier could do the trick?
I don't want to buy an e-drum amplifier, anything loud enough would be good, even my JBL bluetooth speaker would be good!  ;D

Please help!
Thanks and sorry for my English ;D

Offline AlanK

Re: Nitro Mesh Kit - low output volume
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2022, 05:02:12 PM »
It may have just been a typo, but shouldn't you be using TS cables for left and right, not TRS? I don't think your'e getting the proper connections using tip, ring and sleeve for speakers. If you used the headphone as the output, you'd need a TRS splitter to two TS.