Author Topic: Strings To Sticks - the development of a new drummer YouTube channel  (Read 1505 times)

Hi all,

as an absolute beginner into the world of drummer I wanted to see how others had progressed but simply couldn't find anything out there so I figured putting my path down in all its gory glory might be fun and keep me motivated - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCToZAm9iHojrp-Hc1Rizb-A

I have no intention of doing best ofs, you should, gear reviews etc - it's just a journal of my progression as I go along.

As you might be able to guess from my username, I'm a long term guitarist/bass player venturing into the murky world of drums...and loving every second of it so far.  Modern electronic kits just encourage practice - they make you want to play.  If only there had been such a guitar available 35 years ago!

I've already added a 4th 8" tom from a Crimson II SE to the setup, along with an additional 2 zone 14" ride that will probably remain as a china-type.  Regardless of the instrument - GAS is real!

Have a wander over and watch the development of an absolute beginner - and maybe put me right when I get things wrong!

Thanks

Rik

Online AlanK

Re: Strings To Sticks - the development of a new drummer YouTube channel
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2021, 10:54:45 AM »
Hey StS! Welcome to the forum and congrats on your decision both to take up drumming, and document your journey.

I'm probably around your age range, and wanted to be a drummer when I was a kid.. got a crappy set around 13/14 (mid 70s), learned to play jamming with my older brother, then we started a band when we were 19/20.. well, that lasted a couple years only and then marriage, apt life and lack of money had me lose the drums.. halfway into my second wife I met some guys who were jamming and I got back at it a quarter century later and my new journey began as well (which I've documented as well on YT but not with the same commentary and professional look as yours!).