Author Topic: Bluetooth MIDI  (Read 2401 times)

Bluetooth MIDI
« on: March 07, 2019, 07:44:26 AM »
Just brought home a Crimson II kit with the intention of interfacing it to EZ drummer 2 then realized I have a new iPad and one of those Yamaha wireless bluetooth MIDI things. Anybody here try that yet? I am thinking the latency may be just too much to interface the module to Garage Band via wireless MIDI but was curious. I am new to e-drumming and well drumming in general actually. I played for a few years back in the 1980's but switched to guitar. Trying to knock the rust off what little skills I did have and get back into it.

Thanks for any info!   :)

Re: Bluetooth MIDI
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2019, 10:26:23 AM »
I tried a wireless set of headphones and the latency was way too bad.

Online AlanK

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2019, 01:23:23 PM »
As SeilorBird says, lots of latency.. I've tried bluetooth, just enough noticeable lag to be annoying but if you let your mind flow like a jedi ninja, you can eventually delay your playing to match up if the beat is constant. I also tried a wireless infrared line of sight type of headphone setup, even worse latency.. test lasted about 5 seconds and went back to my wired pair.
DM10X with Addictive Drums 2, Pro X hi-hat, 4 crashes, foam cone conversion w Roland mesh heads, Laurin Drums snare and kick, Mapex P710W double kick pedal, Mapex 2 legged hi-hat, Behringer 8 channel USB mixer, Tascam 144MK AI, Samson Expedition Escape powered speakers

Online Hellfire

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2019, 10:44:56 AM »
Guys, I don't think he is referring to "Bluetooth headphones"

I believe he is referring to "Bluetooth Midi". Devices like these:

Yamaha Wireless MD-BT01   5-PIN DIN MIDI Adapter

Hi Bob,