Author Topic: Trying to decide between Alesis and Roland  (Read 2213 times)

Trying to decide between Alesis and Roland
« on: November 25, 2012, 08:14:47 PM »
I'm having a hell of a time trying to decide between an Alesis DM10X and a Roland TD-9.  My biggest concern are the pads.  I've heard that the Alesis pads are similar to hitting a wooden board, if that's the case then I'm not interested.  I would love to try them myself, but no one in my area seems to have any Alesis models on display to demo. 

My background is strictly acoustic drums, this is my first venture into E-Kits.  So if the Alesis pads come anywhere close to a real drum set as far as feel, then I'm sold.  I particularly like the fact that the Alesis pad size more resembles that of a real kit than the Roland. 

So can someone please give me an honest answer on the feel of the Alesis pads.  Thank you

Greg

Re: Trying to decide between Alesis and Roland
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2012, 08:21:51 PM »
Alesis pads are fine imo if you do the mesh conversion. With the mylar heads it is very hard. Mesh provides a gentler, quieter and more professional feel. I'd definitely go Alesis as I'm sure the price is different too.

Offline Trondster

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2012, 09:47:22 PM »
The Alesis module requires that you spend some quality time with the trigger settings - they are awful out of the box. If you want something that just works out of the box - go for Roland. If you are prepared to spend some time with the module, the Dm10 has a lot of functionality for the money.
DM10 Pro kit with dampened rack, extra crashes, mesh heads, Gibraltar stands, P2002C and a dream cherry snare by Diamond Drums.

Offline Pier

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2012, 02:34:26 AM »
+1 !  :)

Offline So-Kal

« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2012, 06:01:36 AM »
If I had my time again, I'd go for 2Box or that new Italian kit......

A bit more money than the Alesis kits, but not as much as the Rolands.