Author Topic: New to Edrumming and need guidance.  (Read 6040 times)

Offline mazzith

New to Edrumming and need guidance.
« on: December 21, 2009, 02:50:52 AM »
Heya guys. First off I'd like to thank you guys for all the work and info you put into the reviews and these forums. I have been debating for months on if I should buy a edrum set or not. I am a bass player / guitarist / singer by trade and I do enjoy playing the drums but well not that good. With that being said I tend to second guess every decision I am trying to make because I could be missing something.

Now I first started to look at getting something in the 500 dollar price range used, but found that most were junk and I'd want to upgrade / replace right away. So after searching around I found the DM 10 which looks very impressive. While I have a mesh fetish from playing my friends roland V-custom 5k set I am not to worried about this set because I can upgrade to it. Now here is where the I get into trouble. I found a used TD10 setup here locally. The guy only has the mesh pad for the snare and rest are the rubber dual zone pads.

This is the setup for the roland td 10.

- 1 Roland TD-10 drum module (600+ professional drum & percussion sounds)
- 1 Roland PD-80R dual-zone mesh snare
- 2 Roland PD-9 dual-zone pads
- 3 Roland PD-8 dual-zone pads
- 1 Roland KD-8 bass pad
- 1 Roland FD-7 HH controller
- 1 DW-7000 bass pedal
- 1 Heavy-duty steel rack & necessary cables
- 2 Yamaha PCY-130 with mount / cables

The price tag on this setup is 950 dollars. It leaves me about 500-700 extra compared to the DM10 to upgrade some of the pieces and sell off the PD-9 and 8 pads. (found DM10 for 1300 w/ shipping from audio alliance. Guitar center will match and beat by 10% so 1170ish pre tax)

If you guys were able to pick between the two sets which would you pick and why? I have not found much on the TD10 but I hear it is solid though not sure if I can update the sets like in DM10.