Author Topic: Apologies if already asked (Closed Hi-hat on DM10)  (Read 4831 times)

Apologies if already asked (Closed Hi-hat on DM10)
« on: January 23, 2014, 11:20:59 AM »
Suspect the answer is lurking for me somewhere within. What is the general advice surrounding double bass pedals and hi-hats?

I am just new to drumming and picked up a DM10 with double bass pedals.

I am struggling to get my head around how to handle playing double bass pedals and get a closed snare sound.

I can't help but think that buying a proper snare with a drop clutch would be a nice solution and free up a spare input to use with the other spree and these http://www.682drums.com/ROW/t-Rigg-set-of-2-p-16207.html

Or...is the new Alesis Hi Hat I saw mentioned here worn waiting on?

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: July 20, 2019, 09:28:18 AM by Hellfire »

Offline Trondster

Re: Apologies if already asked
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 11:39:06 AM »
I guess you by "snare" mean "hi-hat".

You could make a foot switch connected to the hi-hat pedal, and there are many other interesting DIY ideas you could use.

And - see this one, from DMDrummer member Drumagination:
http://www.drumagination.com/hi-hat.html
« Last Edit: January 23, 2014, 11:41:00 AM by Trondster »
DM10 Pro kit with dampened rack, extra crashes, mesh heads, Gibraltar stands, P2002C and a dream cherry snare by Diamond Drums.

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 01:12:15 PM »
Sorry, my bad.........hi-hat, NOT snare!

« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2014, 02:35:36 PM »
Is there an actual wiring schematic for that foot pedal mod?

Offline Trondster

« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2014, 03:10:31 PM »
See the PDF at the bottom of that page for an explanation, anyway.
You could make a foot switch in parallel with the pedal, shorting the pedal when activated - and the pedal will register as fully depressed.
DM10 Pro kit with dampened rack, extra crashes, mesh heads, Gibraltar stands, P2002C and a dream cherry snare by Diamond Drums.