Author Topic: (Another) DIY DM10x Mesh Conversion  (Read 6362 times)

(Another) DIY DM10x Mesh Conversion
« on: September 12, 2016, 02:13:34 PM »
Hello,

I am new to the site, I have had the DM10x for almost a year now. It has been a great practice tool! I finally decided to upgrade to mesh heads after reading up on all the various options. I wanted to share my find with everyone.

The first attempt I tried was using Remo Silentstroke mesh heads and the 5mm EVA foam purchased from hobby lobby. You can just place this foam on top of the stack for all the sizes toms/bassdrum. While it did quiet the pads down slightly, it still had an annoying clicky sound and the stick feel is still an overly dead feeling.

I worked as an engineer in the medical field dealing with foams, plastics and adhesives for over 10 years, there are many excellent options for foam/rubber materials in the industry. However, I wanted to find an inexpensive one that was readily available for anyone (not industry only). I found the strangest source for an excellent material to go under the mesh heads. It is a yoga mat that can be found at Walmart or Amazon etc. It is a 5mm natural rubber and PER mix, called WarriorMat. One roll cost $29 , but can easily do 2  DM10x sets (share with a friend?). I just placed the foam on top of the stack, placed the mesh head over it and it worked perfect. Did not have to adjust sensitivity at all, perfect response on all drums. I have to say it has the best stick feel (and double-pedal feel) of any e-drums I have tried (for note I can't stand the screen-door-feeling mesh drums like the roland etc). One added note, if you look close it does give a nice aesthetic honeycomb look under the mesh as well ;).  Pics attached.   

Offline AlanK

Re: (Another) DIY DM10x Mesh Conversion
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 02:20:21 PM »
That looks great, Jer. And hey, your purchase of the mat triggered the planting of a tree, so bonus points   8)