Author Topic: Triggering problems  (Read 1037 times)

Triggering problems
« on: October 15, 2021, 05:52:11 PM »
I've got a bit of a hybrid/DIY kit and I could use some help troubleshooting some triggering problems.

The kit started life as a DM8 Pro. I upgraded the pads with mesh heads including adding a thin layer of soft foam between the head and the trigger plate. I did not change the order of the foam stack as I've seen some other folks do. It worked really well with the DM8 Pro module.

I've just upgraded to a DM10 mkii Pro module. It's missing hits, especially on the 12" pads (snare and floor tom).

The easiest problem to reproduce is if I start with soft alternating single strokes they're fine at low intensity. As I hit harder, they reach a point where suddenly the hits don't register. Looking at the module, they're barely triggering at all. Single hard hits are fine though. I'm not playing particularly fast, I'm a pretty inexperienced drummer and couldn't play very fast if I wanted to. I might be hearing some soft rim shots when this happens (even though I'm definitely not hitting the rim).

One symptom that's a little harder to explain is that in moderately fast fills where I'm moving back and forth from snare to toms, sometimes the snare will miss a trigger entirely. When this happens it doesn't seem to matter whether it was a hard or soft hit.

The DM8 had a lot more options on trigger configuration. I could set cross talk send and receive for every pad. And the snare had a separate "zone cross talk" setting.

The trigger settings in the DM10 mkii Pro aren't nearly as sophisticated. They each just have a single cross talk setting. I've experimented with various cross talk, threshold, and sensitivity settings. I can't find anything that seems to make a difference. Which has me suspecting my modified pads.

Thoughts? Should I change the layer order of the foam stack? Is there something specific I should try in the module's trigger settings?