Author Topic: Alesis DM6 Drum Kit at Costco for $279  (Read 17646 times)

Alesis DM6 Drum Kit at Costco for $279
« on: September 04, 2011, 10:54:06 PM »
Hi All,

I saw an Alesis DM6 drum kit at costco for $279.  It has DM6, 3 cymbals, 1 dual-zone snare, 3 single-zone pad, and 2 footpedals.

The footpedal for bass is just a simple pedal, like the one for HHC.

The 3 single-zone pads are differentfromt eh standard one.  It is much smaller and the surface is completely flat.

Has anyone else seen this and is this a good deal?

Thanks,
James

Re: Alesis DM6 Drum Kit at Costco for $279
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2011, 01:04:20 PM »
I bought one... I like it.  I'm an adult beginner drummer.

The bass pedal just doesn't have a feel.  The spring is too light.  I replaced my kick pedal with a Roland kick pad and a dw pedal.  It works perfectly with the Alesis gear.   

That pedal and pad were $300, so if you want a good feel on the bass, you might consider getting one of the more expensive DM6 kits (not from Costco) that comes with a real pedal.   

For instance, Musician's Friends has the DM6 kit with a real pedal for $500.   And at that price I would have saved about $100... rather than get the Roland drum I bought.

---

That being said.  It's a ton of fun either way.  If you only have $300 to spend, Costco's deal is as good as it gets.

-Mark

Re: Alesis DM6 Drum Kit at Costco for $279
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2011, 03:41:51 PM »
I bought the kit a couple weeks ago. I'm an adult beginner as well. Definitely not anywhere near the $1000 kits but I think pretty good price for $280.

I agree that the kick pedal sucks. I was planning on getting a replacement one from alesis that is only $60 from Amazon. So it's still better than buying the $500 alesis kit.

You have to make sure to update your firmware when you get it, because the one I got from costco had issues when hitting the snare. The firmware update was easy and fixed the issue.