Author Topic: Dm10 Mesh Head Questions  (Read 2153 times)

Dm10 Mesh Head Questions
« on: November 03, 2019, 10:59:19 PM »
Can I just change the head out on my DM10 kit? I'm a little nervous to mess with the wiring of the trigger itself I'm a bit of a noob. Has anyone done this?

Re: Dm10 Mesh Head Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2019, 10:34:12 AM »
I have and I put rubber/foam drum muffs under them to protect the head and bottom plate/trigger. Basically take off old head, put drum muff in place then put mesh head over muff then put rim back on.

http://billyblastdrums.easystorecreator.com/items/Mesh-Heads~Muffs/list.htm

Works great, but not as quiet as a mesh/cone setup, but more quiet than the basic (mylar?) heads. Feel is decent too.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2019, 11:57:00 AM by Triple Lindy »
DM10X mesh/foam conversion, Trigger IO, 8 piece, 7 cymbals, Roland Hi-Hat, Laurin Snare, Roland Rim Trigger, Addictive Drummer 2

Offline orion32

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2019, 11:07:37 AM »
https://www.alesisdrummer.com/index.php?topic=131.msg684#msg684

It's not as hard as it seems.  Just be careful of the piezo wire not to tug on it too hard when you take off the old head/rim.  It's attached to a metal plate and there isn't a lot of slack.  If you go slow it's easy.  I replaced my heads with mesh and I replaced the stock thin crappy foam with a yoga foam I cut out for 10" and 12" toms.  When you take it apart you should inspect all the other foam to make sure it is still in good shape.  If not you should look to replace it.
Alesis Strike Pro
A to E converted Zildjian L80 - 14" crash, 16" crash & china

Offline Dartanbeck

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2019, 11:09:51 AM »
I actually love the mesh heads that came with my DM10X Mesh kit, so I ordered mine from Alesis. Only had to change my bass head since I didn't have anything but felt for my kick beater. Big mistake. I should have waited. That felt ate right through the head!