Author Topic: I Expanded My New Nitro Mesh Kit... (with introduction and pic!)  (Read 813 times)

New member here.   Hello fellow drummers!

My name is Solipstix and this is my first electric drum set.

I started learning to play when I was 14.  I had just started going to a "Full Gospel" church that had a beautiful TAMA drum set.

The worship-team drummer didn't have time to give me lessons, but he told me I could practice on the set every Wednesday night between 5-7pm when nothing else was scheduled to be happening in the sanctuary.

He gave me a few tips every now and then, but for the most part (and to my detriment) I am self-taught.

I am a left-handed person.  The kit I learned on was set-up for a right-handed drummer.   I made it work, using an open-handed approach.   It probably wasn't the best way to learn... but here I am 35 years later, still playing open-handed.

I was able to get a nice little Gretch Blackhawk set when I was 17, and became the drummer for the "house band" of a local tavern for a couple years.   

I have lived in an apartment (or other restricted living spaces) for most of my life.  After the house-band thing fizzled away, I put my Gretch kit in storage and 30 years kinda slipped through my fingers without laying a finger on a drumstick. 

About 4 months ago, I saw an Alesis Turbo set up for sale on my local FB marketplace.   The seller was trying to sell a 2 yr old kit for just under the retail amount he originally paid for the set.  Of course, I did not buy the kit, but that ad re-ignited a spark inside me that used to burn so bright when I was a young man.  Playing music used to mean so much to me.