Author Topic: Absolute Newbie  (Read 737 times)

Absolute Newbie
« on: January 17, 2021, 06:25:34 AM »
Hi All,

as the title says - an absolute beginner to the world of drumming, although I have played guitar and more recently bass in bands for 35 years.

I have Crimson 2 kit getting delivered in a couple of days and luckily the drummer in my band is also a qualified tutor and so lessons begin a couple of days after that - remotely in a C-19 secure way of course!  No doubt I'll be asking all the usual newbie questions - I'll try to use the search functionality first!

I also have a small home studio and I'm really looking forward to getting this hooked into Steve Slate Drums 5 in the not too distant future...luckily working in IT means that DAW/VST software holds no fear!

Wish me luck on the journey!

Rik

« Last Edit: January 17, 2021, 06:27:14 AM by stringstosticks »

Re: Absolute Newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2021, 04:29:51 AM »
Welcome to our, (and now your), community and best of luck to you on your new journey.
I found myself constantly adding new gear, VST's  etc. so be careful, that rabbit hole is deep and wide and can get expensive once you fall into it.....like I did.
I played acoustic drums back in the 80's and now play e drums exclusively.
I am now also dabbling in making my own music to play along to.
I have an MPC Live and Novation Circuit as well as a Roland JDXI synth. that I compose/create on and then route them through my 24 channel mixer to play along to if I get tired of playing along to other peoples music.