Author Topic: Hello from Canada and a few questions! :)  (Read 821 times)

Hello from Canada and a few questions! :)
« on: January 06, 2021, 10:05:38 AM »
Decided to start playing drums to ease the boredom of lockdown, covid restrictions etc. I started by renting a Roland TD17KL from a local store and loved it. Once i realized I wanted to keep playing, I figured renting wasn´t the best option. So I did my research and bought a kit.

My Command Mesh kit arrived yesterday and after the fun of putting it all together, I turned it on, got my favourite backing track and started playing. Now please bare in mind that I am a beginner, but played that Roland kit for 4 months. My initial thoughts with the Command kit were, eugh, this sounds terrible. To my untrained ears, the sample kits sound really digital and unpleasant. Given that Alesis is a well known brand I was quite disappointed.

The more I think about it.the more I imagine the issue is me, and this is where I reach out to you folks! I have a feeling that the kit I rented was probably set up and tweaked by the last renter and as such i never heard the factory settings.

Typically, when getting a BNIB kit, what tweaks do you make to the module sounds and kit setup? Apologies if there is already a thread on this.

Thanks so much for any help and hope you´re all having a great week.

James.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2021, 10:11:20 AM by James Carpenter »

Re: Hello from Canada and a few questions! :)
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2021, 05:03:50 AM »
Hi James,