Author Topic: DM5 to...?  (Read 5687 times)

Offline Guinness

DM5 to...?
« on: January 02, 2010, 08:29:27 PM »
So...  as some may have read, I'm new to eDrumming.  used to play a lot of acoustic, but haven't in years...  room, sound, etc...  So, edrum seems like a great way to get back into it.

I got a Ion set (similar to the DM6), but it broke in 2 days and I returned it.  So, I then purchased the DM5 Pro Kit.  There's lots of things I like about it, but it's limited and those limitations are causing frustration.

I MIGHT return the DM5 kit and start all over (again).
I'm seeking suggestions.  I'd like to keep it under $1000, but that may not be possible.

Mesh heads aren't important to me.  I like Alesis' mylar heads..  I don't like rubber.

I need variable hi-hat control, chokable cymbals.  I mostly play rock, but need a kit that's plenty flexible... and has room (extra trigger inputs to grow).  Size is important, 'cause I'd prefer a small-ish footprint.  The kick needs to be large enough to accomodate a double beater.  I need an Aux In on the module, 'cause I really like to play along with my Ipod (eventually, I'll find drumless tracks.)

Ideally, I'd like:
Snare, 2-3toms, 1 floor tom, kick, 3 cymbals (crash, crash, china (a splash would be nice too :)  ), 1 ride, cowbell/block, variable hi-hat.  But that's something I'd build towards and don't necesarily need it right away.  So, just a 5 piece kit to start, but the key element is a variable hi-hat, and choke.

Thoughts/suggestions?

Online Hellfire

Re: DM5 to...?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 11:12:59 PM »
So...  as some may have read, I'm new to eDrumming.  used to play a lot of acoustic, but haven't in years...  room, sound, etc...  So, edrum seems like a great way to get back into it.