Author Topic: DM6 vs DM5 Pro  (Read 13182 times)

DM6 vs DM5 Pro
« on: April 22, 2010, 09:26:45 PM »
Considering both sets, here's where I'm at:

DM6

- Comes with kick pedal
- Mix-in jack
- Cheaper

DM5 Pro

- Real drum heads
- More adjustability (cross-talk, sensitivity, etc)
- Larger kick pad (better for double pedals?)
- Expandable, but unlikely I would add to it
- Better/more realistic drum sounds?

I'm new to drums, so I want something that I can learn on and eventually I'd like to buy an acoustic set.  A friend suggested the DM5 Pro because the real drum heads would be better to learn on if I plan to move to acoustic.  I've also read comments from some saying that the DM6 kick drum pad doesn't play nice with double pedals, contrary to what Alesis advertises.

Bottom line -- I'm a total beginner.  The DM6 looks perfectly suited to my needs, but I'd like to know that I can use a double pedal setup.  Any comments from those with experience with either set would be appreciated.

Offline Guinness

Re: DM6 vs DM5 Pro
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 12:21:11 AM »
rubber pads (DM6) are fine to learn on.  Yes, the mylar pads feel more realistic, but as a beginner, you may be just focused on timing.  Again, rubber pads are fine...  think 'practice pad':  those are rubber.

I'm not sure if you can fit two beaters on the DM6's kick; but you can on the DM5.

DM5 voices (sounds) are dated, and you'll find the DM6 sounds better.  But that can be remedied by using the DM5 + a PC program like BFD2.

DM5 is expandable, where as the DM6 is limited.   How much does a DM6 cost nowadays?  You might like a DM10 Studio kit instead.

I like the DM5 for set up and expandability, but I got rid of mine because the voices are dated.  DM6 has more current and realistic sounding drum voices.

others may have differing opinions.

Btw... welcome to the forum.

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 03:00:38 AM »