Author Topic: Alesis Nitro ? New Module or VST  (Read 2304 times)

Alesis Nitro ? New Module or VST
« on: February 08, 2021, 05:19:54 PM »
Hello, New drummer here. I'm contemplating either new drums, new module, or VST. I'm a beginning basement drummer who will never record or play in a band. I like the Nitro but would really like to be able to do more with the high hat, ride and be able play cymbals swells.
The Alesis Nitro only has about 4 high hat  sounds and at best only triggers closed, slightly open, and open (plash is still a mystery to me).
I'm leaning toward just getting a new kit or at the least getting a Alesis Strike module or TD17 but want to research a all options first.

Would something like Superior Drummer allow me to get more out of an entry level kit (I know the sounds would be better) but is the play-ability better or is the Nitro module the big preventative here?

Re: Alesis Nitro ? New Module or VST
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2021, 12:50:39 PM »
Its the Module settings you have to tweek. I use EZ drummer with superior  the sounds are better  but you have to tweek triggers and deal with if any latency issues I having issues with my crimson 2 keeps shutting off while playing good luck with your decision 8)

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2021, 09:09:38 AM »
Thanks mk69cam. Sorry for your troubles. Most likely will look at a new kit at this point. Like the Nitro / Alesis but seems Roland has their act together.

Offline Chaser

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2021, 10:31:59 AM »

Hello, New drummer here. I'm contemplating either new drums, new module, or VST. I'm a beginning basement drummer who will never record or play in a band. I like the Nitro but would really like to be able to do more with the high hat, ride and be able play cymbals swells.
The Alesis Nitro only has about 4 high hat  sounds and at best only triggers closed, slightly open, and open (plash is still a mystery to me).