Author Topic: Impatiently Waiting...  (Read 961 times)

Impatiently Waiting...
« on: April 30, 2020, 03:35:41 PM »
Hi All,
I've made my leap into e-kit ownership. Well, sort of.

I've been playing drums for almost 20 years now (started when I was 28!) and have wanted a 6-piece all-mesh e-kit for about as long. Since I could not afford the matching Roland kits for all those years, I waited patiently. Well, last week I decided to go ahead and order a Strike Pro SE from Sweetwater. Unfortunately, they are back-ordered until early-mid June due to the pandemic, so I have to now wait another six or so weeks. I guess that after waiting almost 20 years, six weeks should be nothing!

I play in my church praise band, but that's only an occasional gig. We only play typically four times a year due to availability of the members of the band. It's a small church, so I wanted an all-mesh kit to keep the ambient noise down to a minimum. I will also use it to record live drums for some personal music as well.

I have plans to expand the kit with two more cymbals. My acoustic setup has hats, ride, Hi and low crashes, Wuhan 12" crash (my favorite sounding cymbal!), splash, and an occasional china. I have a Roland SPD-11 that I will use to convert trigger-to-midi. I also am considering eventually getting a VST and have been casually looking at EZD, SD, and SSD. That'll come later though, and likely only if I feel I need more or better sounds than the Strike module provides.

As I said, for now I am impatiently waiting...

-tim

Re: Impatiently Waiting...
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2020, 02:21:45 PM »