Author Topic: problem with Alesis DM lite Hi-Hat using with GarageBand  (Read 525 times)

problem with Alesis DM lite Hi-Hat using with GarageBand
« on: September 06, 2022, 08:32:12 AM »
Hello, I'm very new to this and was very excited about being able to play a live kit into garageland and change the sounds and quantise it etc, rather than tapping in drums on a keyboard.
I hooked it up via the USB and started playing, it read it straight away, no problem with all of the sounds except the hi-hat.
I cannot play with a closed hi-hat!  It works fine when I'm playing the kit without going through a computer, the hi-hat works as it should, but when I plug it in and I'm trying to record, what happens is, when i push the pedal down I get a closed hi hat sound played once, but when i strike the hi-hat, (with the pedal still down) unfortunately it plays an open hi-hat sound. So I'm sure you'll agree this is absolutely useless  :(. When I push the pedal down again, it plays one closed hi-hat note again, but as soon as I hit the pad it plays an open hat. Any suggestions more than welcome, I feel like I've wasted my money buying the kit if it's not compatible.
There doesn't seem to be any adjustments or settings I can change, or if there are, probably beyond my limited technical skills.
Thank you

Offline Chaser

Re: problem with Alesis DM lite Hi-Hat using with GarageBand
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2022, 08:56:13 AM »
Hello, I'm very new to this and was very excited about being able to play a live kit into garageland and change the sounds and quantise it etc, rather than tapping in drums on a keyboard.
I hooked it up via the USB and started playing, it read it straight away, no problem with all of the sounds except the hi-hat.