Author Topic: My A to E Conversion  (Read 1971 times)

My A to E Conversion
« on: December 28, 2019, 11:30:20 PM »
I have been mulling around with the idea of going to an acoustic kit simply for the authenticity of it all. But I knew I just didn’t want to deal with all of the noise. It wouldn’t be an issue for neighbors, as they are far enough away but I really love being able to put my 1 year old to bed at 8 and then be able to drum and not disturb him. I don't have space for two kits so, I decided to go ahead with a full conversion. I have been playing a converted Taye snare for about 6 months with a Jobeky 4-arm trigger. It’s an excellent trigger, really nothing more to say. No wiring involved; everything has connectors on it.

About 2 months ago I went into a local music store. He had a used CB700 drum set. At the time I wasn’t sure what route I was going to take so I didn’t grab it. After keeping an eye out on Craigslist for those 2 months, one Saturday I just went back to the store and picked up the 4-piece CB set for $100. Sizes are 12x8, 13x9, 16x15, 22x14, and the snare I already had is a 14x5.5 ... actually it's like 14x5 3/8 lol. Cheap.

At first I was going to fix the imperfections in the shells, sand, and stain. But after getting the black vinyl wrap off, I didn’t really even like the look of the wood grain in the shells so I pivoted to a wrap. My favorite looking drums right now are the Mapex Saturn V in the natural maple burl. They are beautiful. I found some maple burl wrap from Bum Wrap Drum Co. that wasn’t quite the same but very close so I got some pre-cut pieces for each drum.