Author Topic: Strike Pro SE Hi Hat - Semi-Closed problem  (Read 682 times)

Strike Pro SE Hi Hat - Semi-Closed problem
« on: December 23, 2020, 01:12:15 PM »
Hi, everyone. I'm a new Alesis Strike Pro SE owner. I received my Xmas present earlier this week. Setup and minor config changes went smoothly! However, I can't seem to adjust the hi-hat pedal settings to achieve something that doesn't fundamentally change my playing style. On my acoustic kit, I'm used to just slightly backing off the pressure on the pedal to get a nice, sloshy, semi-closed sound.

The problem with this new setup is that I have to "open the hats" much, much more (perhaps .75" of rod travel) before I can get the first "non-closed" sample to trigger. This is on every kit - even the "larger" ones that have all five hi-hat samples. I've opened up the strike editor, and tried to adjust the thresholds for the semi-closed to be a bit wider (126 to 70) but that just makes it a bit easier to put the pedal in the right range for the semi-closed sound - but it doesn't change the fact that I still have to move the hats farther than I want to reliably trigger that sound. I've also messed with the pedal curves, the splash setting and the offset, to no avail.

I've played a cheap Roland kit before - but it only had a separate, disconnected pedal - like on the Turbo Mesh. Perhaps the optical sensors were a little more sensitive?  I've heard that the Alesis triggers relay on spring pressure. At this point, I am thinking that unfortunately, it's going to be a "hardware" issue - and I assume it's more of a balancing act between having the right spring tension and length to prevent double triggers and ensure you get a reliable chick and "closed" sound - but also minimizing the length of rod travel you need before you get that first "semi-closed" sample variant.

Thoughts?

Mylo

Re: Strike Pro SE Hi Hat - Semi-Closed problem
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2020, 02:21:37 PM »