Author Topic: Strike pro  (Read 599 times)

Offline AzWoodWarrior

Strike pro
« on: January 05, 2021, 04:31:57 PM »
HAPPY 2021! Since my playing has improved significantly in the past 6 months, and am considering turning pro, is the strike pro kit worth it? Or should I wait until I make the plunge to professional percussionist and invest in the high end electronic kits. I guess the question is, is strike pro professional level equipment or will I need to fork out 8k-10k? Keep in mind, I was a carpenter for 20 years and from that experience know that better quality tools produce better quality products.
Because ya can't, ya won't, and ya don't stop!

Re: Strike pro
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2021, 11:19:59 AM »
I would disagree that better quality tools (drums) build better quality products (make you a better drummer).
Better quality tools would be there for you, reliably, every time you need them. If that's what you mean to say.

I don't have a full Strike Pro kit but what I do have is the module and strike cymbals used on my A2E. I love the module and even though I use EZD2 a lot, the module sounds are excellent for when I just want to boot up fast and play/practice. I think they would be fine for live playing and you can upload your own samples from a VST.

I don't have any problem with the cymbals either, mostly. They were bought used from Reverb. Ride bell triggers accurately. The bad - the hi-hat is awful. There is no way around it. The cymbal set I bought came with the old two-piece hi-hat. No experience with the new single top hat + controller. But I replaced mine with a Roland VH-11 and it's far superior. Controller aside, the Roland CY-12 just triggers so much better.

I've read many comments about the plates breaking inside the Strike drums too, specifically the snare I think. If you go searching you'll find it. But again, no personal experience with that.