Author Topic: Replaced Stock Shells with Wood Frame Drums Shells  (Read 2177 times)

Offline mpanzer

Replaced Stock Shells with Wood Frame Drums Shells
« on: June 01, 2019, 08:11:24 PM »
For those interested in a way to deepen your shells, I found an easy solution. The first photo is of my expanded DM10X set with mesh head conversion. The 12” pads were deepened by creating riser pieces to place under the shell. You can see the white risers at the bottom of the 12” pads. I’ve been playing these with that mod for a couple years and the conversion works extremely well. However, I’ve been playing with the idea of finding some inexpensive frame drum shells to replace the stock shells and risers altogether. The only reason for this was pure esthetics. I just thought natural wood shells would look nice.  The second photo is the result. Not bad!

Here’s what I used:
12” maple shells: https://furandhide.com/products/deeper-frame-12-x-2-78-maple-drum-frame-%2A%2A%2A2%2678-deep
(they do have a cheaper 2” deep shell, but I opted for the 3”.

10” maple shells: https://furandhide.com/products/10-inch-drum-frame

8” poplar shells: https://www.amazon.com/Foraineam-Inch-Goat-Skin-Head/dp/B01DG28DMA/ref=sxts_sxwds-bia?keywords=Foraineam+8+Inches+Hand&pd_rd_i=B01DG28DMA&pd_rd_r=4350494a-8273-41bb-be8e-216d47ec4af2&pd_rd_w=4Efwf&pd_rd_wg=FK8kW&pf_rd_p=f0479f98-a32d-45cd-9c12-7aaced42b1ec&pf_rd_r=A0F8N47X56FV7BCTCY8K&qid=1559432187&s=musical-instruments

I was hoping to find some 8” maple shells but had no luck. These were the best I could find. I just ripped the head off and sanded them down a lot to get the finish off before finishing them with walnut danish oil. The maple shells are unfinished so I lightly sanded them and finished them with the danish oils as well. While poplar tends to not to stain as well, they still came out pretty nice.