Author Topic: Introduction and Trigger IO Tip  (Read 7237 times)

Introduction and Trigger IO Tip
« on: January 09, 2010, 01:41:11 PM »
Hello,
I found this forum while I was browsing another forum and I was excited to see that your main focus here is Alesis products. I purchased an Alesis USB kit. I should say right from the start that I am totally new to e-drumming, or any Virtual instruments for that matter. I did not know anything about MIDI going into this.

My kit seemed to work pretty darn good with the BFD-Lite software that came with it. I had to learn about the Trigger IO and make adjustments here and there on the thresholds, gain, x-talk and stuff like that but I got it working. Now that I think about it a second I actually had trouble right from the get go because I didn't know anything about ASIO so I hunted all over the net and discovered ASIO4all, then it was working lol. I quickly got bored with the sample kits on the BFD-Lite so I wanted to see what kind of software was available besides the upgrade, BFD2 seems great but it is a bit costly at $299. I am not doing any recording and I just wanted some variety of sound to play, BFD seems like over kill with all of it's advanced engineering capabilities. I found Steven Slate Drums at about a third the price and it has some neat kits with really nice sounds.

Here is where I am going with this, for the benefit of others like myself with little to no experience. I'm sure many of you veterans already know this stuff but the knowledge did not come easy for me.