Author Topic: DM10 mesh head conversion (Hellfire & 682Drums) – NO soldering!  (Read 30173 times)

Hey All,

I’ve had my Alesis DM10 for over a week now and I love it. The only thing missing was a mesh head upgrade.

I’m new to edrums so I thought this post would be helpful to acoustic converts / newbie edrummers like myself.

It took me 2 hours in total to do the conversion and tweak the settings on my DM10 module - four 8” toms, 8” bass drum and 10” snare drum with a couple of tea breaks in between  ;)

Thanks to…
I checked out Hellfire’s mesh head conversion with soldering and also the 682Drums cone conversion. I also read tons of articles on dmdrummer.com – so thanks to Hellfire, 682Drums’ cone conversion video tutorial and Trondster’s superb visual rendition of Hellfire’s conversion and others who have gone down a similar route.  :)

My needs were:
1. I definitely do not want to, or need to solder
2. I want it to be as pain free as possible
3. I want to get the best response from my mesh heads

In order to meet my needs I had to mix things up slightly…

I used Hellfire’s mesh head conversion without the soldering bit and a touch of 682Drums conversion process.

I bought my mesh heads from www.682Drums.com – amazing customer service and prompt delivery. Ordered on Saturday night and they arrived in the UK on Wednesday morning – superb!

What you’ll need:
1. Drum key
2. Scissors
3. “Fab Foam” x5 sheets (if you’re in the UK get the foam from Hobby Craft – cheap @79p per sheet – link to Hobby Craft foam page)
   a. There have been some posts saying that you don’t need extra foam, you just have to rearrange the “sandwich” (as Hellfire calls it). I think you do – it just adds that extra height and tightness / compactness
4. Pen / marker
5. CD

Out of the box the DM10 has 3 layers
1. Trigger plate with a rubber plate stuck to it
2. Dark grey foam (has a hole in it)
3. White foam

The 14 steps I followed: