Author Topic: Ableton Live Intro 11 will not detect signal from Alesis Command kit  (Read 1226 times)

Hi all,

I'm virtually a total beginner to recording, so please bear with me and what is *hopefully* a relatively straightforward issue! As the title suggests, I have been trying to record with my Alesis Command kit, through an audio interface, to my laptop and Ableton Live Intro 11, and while I can hear sound through earphones plugged into the audio interface, I can't see any signal coming through onto the software. I've never used any other recording software before, though I tried very briefly to do the same on Intro 10 recently before the update and still had the same problem, so I can't say it's an issue specific to 11. My equipment is as follows:

Alesis Command mesh drumkit
Ableton Live Intro 11
Windows 10 Home, version 1909, OS build 18363.1440, 64-bit, x64-based processor
MSI GS73 7RE Stealth Pro
Behringer UMC22 audio interface

I connected a 1/4" cable from the mono output of the Alesis module to the INST 2 port of the interface, then used a USB A/B cable from the interface to my laptop, which turns the 'Power' light on on the interface. I plugged in earphones into the 'phones in' port of the interface.

When I open Ableton, and go to Preferences, Audio tab, I use the MME/DirectX option (I tried downloading ASIO4ALL, but when I select ASIO from the driver options, and choose 'ASIO4all v2' it just says 'Live does not support 8000 as a sample rate for the device "ASIO4ALL v2"').

For audio input, it gives me the options of:

'Microphone (Realtek High Definition Audio) DX'
'Microphone (Realtek High Defini Wave'
'Microphone (USB Audio CODEC) DX'
'Microphone (USB Audio CODEC) Wave'

(the latter 2 only appearing when I have the interface connected to the laptop, so I assume they are the right ones to choose, though I have no idea if DX or Wave is more suitable)