Author Topic: Alesis Crimson 3-zone ride cymbal - is this normal behaviour?  (Read 5192 times)

Got my Alesis Crimson kit the other day.
Dissapointed with it.
Both 2-zone crash and 3-zone ride cymbals seem to be faulty.
Can hardly trigger bell unless I hit a certain spot in the inner middle of the cymbal.
Can't trigger edge at all. Same thing with the crash cymbal - edge hardly triggerable.
Maybe I'm just a noob and not hitting the cymbals "properly"?
Check out the video I took: https://youtu.be/o48zLJKC9-M Is the cymbal faulty? What can I do besides RMAing the cymbal? I was thinking using this faulty cymbal as crash2 and replacing it with some other cymbal, from Roland, for example. What are the options? What 3rd party cymbals are compatible with Alesis Crimson, so that all 3 zone would work?

Online AlanK

Re: Alesis Crimson 3-zone ride cymbal - is this normal behaviour?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2017, 10:59:38 AM »
Wow, ok, first off, I think we all get the point after 20 seconds of the video ;-)  that's a lotta dinging you recorded.. sounded like a pinball machine..

Which leads me to the second observation.. what kind of "voices" have you got set for the ride? (that WAS the ride, right?), certainly not set to the standard ride/cymbal type kit sounds.

So, did you initialize the module or run (check for) updates? Any chance there's an option for what type of set you've got you had to dial in? (ie on the DM10 there's an option for the module to be programmed for a DM10 Studio or DM10X, and if you don't pick the right one your triggers may be offset or missing some pads/cymbals).

Do you have the cables plugged in properly? I'm not familiar with the Crimson but for the DM10 you certainly have to make sure you've got the two TRS cables plugged in and going to the proper module inputs.

How's the rest of the kit? Do the rest of the pads and cymbals work ok?