Author Topic: X 10 Mesh kit _Review  (Read 2793 times)

Offline duffman

X 10 Mesh kit _Review
« on: April 03, 2015, 07:46:08 AM »
I am now 5 days in on the X10 mesh kit, bought from Sweetwater. This had been on order for over a month. Since its arrival I have been rather sleep deprived. Been spending a ton of time in my home studio laying tracks.

It arrived in 1 huge box. You better have plenty of room to unbox the thing.
Setup instructions come on a poster type sheet. Of course they show, "plug A into B", and neither A or B are marked in the box.  You have to guess.
Setting up the rack is the hardest part. Installing Pads, cymbal arms, and cymbals is very straight forward.
NEW USERS before you turn on the module for the first time, READ THE MANUAL! There is some important info in the first couple of pages.
Mesh heads, quiet, very quiet. As I have very little experience with mesh heads I can not tell you what ply they are. They do have a great feel. I found I needed to adjust the tension of a couple, but out of the box not bad.
Out of the box, I have very little editing to do for X-talk. I had 1 tom pad that crosses with rim if I hit it just right. Other then that, was good to go.
External/internal mixer....there is a latency when using the external mixer. Take a couple of seconds for it to react. When I switch over to the internal mixer the sliders on the screen do not always match how the external mixer sliders are set. A bit of adjustment to an external slider and the internal ones jump to match. Volume knobs on drum pads. I have never seen any reference to these but they are there and they work.
Recording, for now I have it run via the 4 cable method to my audio interface with a stereo return a headphones amp for monitoring. Reverb, compression, panning, done in box via Reaper. Over the next few weeks will be trying midi with Kontakt Abbey Road and Studio drummer.