Author Topic: sounds on the dm10  (Read 5591 times)

sounds on the dm10
« on: February 14, 2011, 05:16:23 AM »
Hi guys.

I have been checking out youtube videos ans so on forever, but i really never find the answer, so i really would like to hear from you DM10 owners about the factory sounds in the module . I know ill probably get the reply "you really should try it before u buy it" - and i totally agree. The thing is, that this just isnt possible for me believe it or not..  :-[

SO. Here are some things id love for u to help me with.

First off. How does the sounds compare to lets say toontrack and reasons drum kit 2.0? What i really want is a kit for metal and im very picky cause i am a real drummer. Is there any piccolo snares to choose. Basicly.Is there factory sounds for metal/heavy - think slipknot, meshuggah etc.

thans a lot

Ole

Offline Guinness

Re: sounds on the dm10
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 11:27:59 AM »
Short answer Yes. 

Long answer, you can take a drum voice and tune it/tweak it to create a sound to your liking.
VST's like toontrack sound better than a module due to the amount of memory a PC has compared to a module.   I'm no expert on VST's, but from what I understand the voices are much more realistic.   But that said, I think the DM10 module voices are pretty fantastic.

If you search youtube for Guinness DM10 Voices, you'll find 4 videos of the first 43 stock kits of the DM10.  You'll have to suffer through my crappy drumming, but you'll hear the voices.  I planned on doing all 100 kits, but never got around to it after video number 4.

hope that helps.

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 11:39:42 PM »
Maybe this post should be under "Drum Modules"... ;)

Like Guinness is saying, first understand that no module yet can use VST technology to it's fullest, so it's kind of comparing apples and oranges.