Author Topic: beginner looking for first drumset. DM8 usb kit, dm8 pro kit, or DM10 studio kit  (Read 20589 times)

Offline j_t

Hey everyone! I am looking to get into playing drums (very little experience with hitting around a acoustic set at a friends house) and I have been in the market for a new drum set. I want to get me a electric drum set because I don't want to make too much noise. I am currently looking at the dm8 usb kit, dm8 pro kit and the dm10 studio kit... I am going to be using a double bass pedal, the type of genre I am going to play is metal, I am not going to be hooking it up to a computer through usb, and I may take it out for small little gigs nothing big but if it's not recommended I have no problem keeping the set at home only.....My questions are-

1. Which one do you recommend?

2. Why can't the dm10 studio kit be used for small gigging for fun?

3. I know I am just a beginner but I would like the kit to last me as I get better, will the dm10 benefit me in the long run?

4. I am worried about the problems I have read on setting these up, is it really a lot of trouble? It's making me have second thoughts on getting a electric drum set.

I am mostly interested in those three kits, I am placing my order this week, any advice you all can share with me about these kits would be very awesome! I was also looking at the yamaha dtxexplorer and the yamaha DTX500K but they look pretty plain, should I stay away from these?

Thanks in advance!  ;D

Offline pbear5

1. i only have experience with the DM8 pro (and more experience with a Yamaha Dtxpress kit which i improved with Pintech mesh pads) and it is a really nice kit.  the size of the pads (8,10,12 inch toms w/ 12 inch snare) was key to me--once i moved from 8" rubber pads to 10 & 12" Pintechs that was it.  the RealHead pads are very nice--i am using a mesh head (Pintech) for my snare but i did test the RealHead first and it worked great i just wanted to use what i had to expand the kit.