Author Topic: DM10 Midi has stopped!!  (Read 3527 times)

Offline Dobly

DM10 Midi has stopped!!
« on: March 30, 2018, 12:29:35 AM »
I have been using my DM10 module for almost 2 years running drum software via a USB cable from the DM10 to my laptop. This has worked perfectly, till today!!

Windows 10 reports a problem with the DM10 and suggest looking for a driver. There is no driver of course.

As a test i grabbed my son's DM8 module and plugged the USB cable in. The laptop found it not trouble and the utility MidiOx and DAW Reaper could both see the DM8.

I tried a reset on the DM10. (Held down Exit and Store as i turned it on). This did not help. I have rebooted the laptop over and over to no avail.

Then compared page by page all the midi setting on my DM10 and the DM8. They are identical.

I don't know what to try next!

Offline Dobly

Re: DM10 Midi has stopped!!
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2018, 12:51:37 AM »
I just try to update the firmware.. But even that cannot get the MIDI to work...

Offline Dobly

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2018, 01:35:44 AM »
Desperate times all for desperate measures..

I even opened the module up to see if i could see anything, like a loose cable or something..

Not much luck in there but here is what I saw for those curious.

The offending USB port is that silver box down there.. Not much I can do to that.

While I was in here....

I wonder what is under this... ???

This is the underside of that floating circuit board.  I'd say this is the CPU and the tiny amount of RAM on the DM10s.

Anyway, I put it all back together and as before. The midi does not work.

One more thing I tried was changing it's midi send channel. No go there either..

Offline Dobly

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2018, 01:56:48 AM »
Ok, move along. Nothing to see here... Or is there??

I had 2 USB cables. Neither worked. I want to draw and found another that didn't work...