Author Topic: DM Dock and DM Touch - Another Alesis Failure  (Read 5563 times)

DM Dock and DM Touch - Another Alesis Failure
« on: March 12, 2015, 11:06:14 AM »
It has become clear to me that based on the reviews the DMDock is a bust. A premature and poorly planned product that has done nothing but further hurt the reputation of the company.

I also think the DMTouch software has serious issues. I will qualify my experience by saying I am a MIDI novice and challenged in this area and may be missing something (but what I was trying to do is not rocket surgery). I have read what little is available regarding the use of the software (Alesis does not provide much instruction as far as I know, and when I click on the DMTouch Support link I get a "server not found" message). I am using an Ipad 1 (IOS 5.1.1) and the latest "update" DMTouch software (1.0.1). I did not purchase the DMDock but was planning on using the IODock with the DMTouch. I have downloaded the software several times to see if a faulty download may be the source of the problems I am having.  I have read  various reports that the software has glitches and defaults to MIDI notes that work with some e-kits or it defaults to MIDI note zero for all drums. My particular software defaulted to MIDI note 60 for the bass drum and MIDI note 0 for everything else. However when I press say the snare in the Trigger Inputs setting and go back to the bass drum it indicates 0 as the MIDI note for the bass drum. There is also a button that indicates Reset Triggers which seems to do absolutely nothing. That's not the worst of it. The software does not save any changes that you make to the trigger setting or MIDI notes after you turn off the Ipad. It will save kits but not settings or assigned MIDI notes. However, it will save everything if you exit the program and return to it without turning off the Ipad. So the software is more or less useless unless you just enjoy tapping on drum icons on your Ipad. I am not sure exactl