Author Topic: replacing fsr on surge hi-hat  (Read 1761 times)

replacing fsr on surge hi-hat
« on: February 02, 2020, 01:41:58 PM »
Hi folks

wondering if anyone could advice on replacing the fsr on my surge hi-hat pedal? When i turn my module on the hi-hat plays an 'open' sound but once i press down on the pedal the hi-hat only plays a 'closed' sound, regardless of whether i'm touching the pedal, and there is no sound after that first press from the pedal. I've opened the casing and pressed the sensor after just switching on the module, and the only response is an initial 'closed' sound from the last segment of the sensor at the toe end, but then there is no sound from any part of the sensor after that.
Now i have no real experience of this kind of thing, as may be apparent, but i'd really like to get the range from my hi-hat i'm supposed to have.
Do i need to buy a new fsr? can't find a similar one online, only ones like this: https://www.proto-pic.co.uk/product/sparkfun-sen-09376-force-sensitive-resistor-square/
Or does anyone know of a way to repair the one i have?
any help greatly appreciated

Offline Chaser

Re: replacing fsr on surge hi-hat
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2020, 12:11:17 PM »
Hi folks

wondering if anyone could advice on replacing the fsr on my surge hi-hat pedal? When i turn my module on the hi-hat plays an 'open' sound but once i press down on the pedal the hi-hat only plays a 'closed' sound, regardless of whether i'm touching the pedal, and there is no sound after that first press from the pedal. I've opened the casing and pressed the sensor after just switching on the module, and the only response is an initial 'closed' sound from the last segment of the sensor at the toe end, but then there is no sound from any part of the sensor after that.
Now i have no real experience of this kind of thing, as may be apparent, but i'd really like to get the range from my hi-hat i'm supposed to have.