Author Topic: First and favorite song  (Read 1576 times)

Offline Mr.J.

First and favorite song
« on: October 23, 2016, 06:21:17 PM »
Hi all.

I'm a newbie drummer, started to learn on the Nitro kit and then upgraded to DM1O X mesh kit. I started with lessons from day 1 and now 5 months into this I am working on my first song.

"What ever is wrong with you" by Marillion. Favorite band, not favorite song, but has to be their easiest song to learn, however I fèel I can nail it.

I think this can be a lot of fun to get involved in this discussion.

What's the first song you learned?

What's your favorite song to play?

What song do you wish you could play but haven't been able to?

I think Bad Company has several songs I think may be on the easier side to learn

Offline Failed Muso

Re: First and favorite song
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2016, 08:18:00 PM »

1. Hard to remember, but probably Penny Lane by The Beatles (showing my age!)

2. Too many to mention, but probably something "proggy" with an odd time signature (Genesis, Yes, Steven Wilson, etc.)

3. Slave To The Rhythm by Grace Jones. Almost impossible to match the groove as it was a drum loop made up from a session out-take by a Washington DC based Go-Go band that got looped on a pair of early Sony digital recorders by Stephen Lipson. It goes a fraction out of sync at the loop point but it has the most amazing groove that is nigh on impossible to replicate manually. I've seen guys like Ash Soan get close, but not perfect :-)
Alesis Crimson Mesh Kit, Alesis DM10 Module, Alesis PercPad, Yamaha DTXpress Kit, Mattel Synsonics, Toontrack Superior Drummer 2

Offline Dobly

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2016, 08:54:52 PM »

1. My first song was 'United we Stand' but The Brotherhood of Man. (oh so long ago). I was 5.

2. I'd have to say at the right gig, with the right players around me and the right sounds from everyone, Rock and Roll by Led Zeppelin.

3. Lots.