Author Topic: dual zone snare  (Read 7113 times)

dual zone snare
« on: November 04, 2010, 08:37:26 PM »
Hi i' using bfd2 software an alesis i/o and want to know how to wire up my peizo's to give me a seperate rim and head ability on my snare drum (i'm quite new to this so please bear with me) i need wiring instructions if possible.

Thanks in anticipation. Len.

Offline Hellfire

Re: dual zone snare
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2010, 09:32:22 PM »
Hi i' using bfd2 software an alesis i/o and want to know how to wire up my peizo's to give me a seperate rim and head ability on my snare drum (i'm quite new to this so please bear with me) i need wiring instructions if possible.

Here you go:

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2010, 05:39:06 AM »
Thanks very much Hellfire, this is the way i wired it so it must be down to software ajustments. I'm not sure yet wether or not bfd2 supports dual triggers, any ideas?

Len.

Offline vaikl

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2010, 10:43:56 AM »
I'm not sure yet wether or not bfd2 supports dual triggers, any ideas?

BFD2 supports dual triggers by setting them up on the keymapping/automation page. You can easily map different triggers with different MIDI notes to different sounds. Drag a snare from the right icon window onto a triggered key on the left keyboard and then select (with right-click) which articulation (hit, rim, drag, flam etc.) you want to assign to this trigger.

« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2011, 04:40:43 PM »

Here you go:

Sorry to bump, but Hellfire, can you use this wiring technique for a dual-zone snare on the DM10 as well?
Rack: Roland MDS-20 [✓]
Module: Alesis DM10 [✓] + Alesis Trigger iO [ ]
Drums: KIK: Roland KD-8 [✓], SNR, TOM1, TOM2, TOM3, TOM4: DIY Cake Pan/Reflection Plate in CB Percussion Starter Kit [ ]
Cymbals: HH: ??? + Modded FD-7 Stand

Offline Hellfire

« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2011, 04:47:26 PM »

Here you go: