Author Topic: Advice for converting a snare  (Read 6536 times)

Advice for converting a snare
« on: September 24, 2010, 06:32:11 PM »
Hola!

Hola! I'm pretty new here.  Actually, I'm not even a drummer...  I'm the guitarist in my band but I'm a tech geek so...

I'd like to convert an acoustic kit to an electronic kit for my drummer to use.  We already use a Roland TD3 kit, but I'd like to have a kit that looks real.

I'm thinking of converting this snare as a test before buying a used kit and doing the rest.

http://drums-percussion.musiciansfriend.com/product/Sound-Percussion-Piccolo-Snare-Drum?sku=502556

1) I am planning on purchasing an Alesis DM10 in a few weeks.  With that in mind, there's been mixed discussion about which trigger type is better to use...

Reflector
Or
Foam Cone

It seems like the Foam cone would be easier to make overall especially since I can buy premade piezo and cones for like $8 a piece from a guy on the vdrum forum.  However, I get the impression it doesn't track as well with the DM10 from some people.  Is the general consensus that Reflector is better for this module?

Since this is a 13" head, which one will have better performance out to the edges of the drum?

2) Assuming I go with Reflector, I like the idea of using a baking or pie pan for the "container" to house the electronics.  The snare I have in mind is a 13" snare.  If I use the pan method should I be trying to have the drum hoop sit on top of the pan edges? Or do I have the pan fit withing the circumference of the drum and put the hoop on the drum edge like it normally would, then use a support system to keep the pan in place under the head?

Would it be better to make a simple platform to bolt into the drum then put the foam on top?  Otherwise I imagine the pan edges would risk touching the head if the foam on top wasn't thick enough.