Author Topic: Pro X Hi-Hat Settings  (Read 5706 times)

Offline AlanK

Pro X Hi-Hat Settings
« on: April 19, 2016, 09:52:10 AM »
Hello fellow Pro X users!

This weekend I spent an hour or so trying to recalibrate/configure my Pro X hats to see if I could get it to work better.. we've all had some or a lot of frustration with it, but I've had a bit of luck in getting it to work (for me) a lot better than previously. Couple of things to say first off, just because I'm finding it's a bit better on my kit, with the same settings it could still suck on yours.. it would seem no two modules are exactly alike, and of course, the hi-hat stands are going to be different. I'm using a relatively cheap Network stand.. I'm no expert, I've only ever owned maybe 3 hat stands in my life.. never really had an amazing one. This Network stand functions well enough but I found the spring tension fairly tight, even adjusting the tension setting.. then add in the spring from the Pro X hats and it's been hard to close it with any subtlety. I replaced the spring in the stand, wasn't easy..makes closing a bit less effort but I may put it back soon and try again to train myself to stomp a little harder.

Plus, the hats will always be louder as far as cymbals in the kit go, thanks to Alesis' great idea of using one of their cheapest crappiest sets possible. There is also the problem with air displacement slowing down closure when barking or chicking 'em. I was looking closely at those 3 rubber circles that protrude. Are they there to help the thing "feel" how tight you're closing it? Or just to help with damping the sound as the top and bottom meet up in closing them?