Author Topic: Hello !  (Read 2477 times)

Hello !
« on: March 17, 2010, 01:26:47 PM »
 Hi everyone,
Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm an obvious NewB to this site which I happened to stumble upon while doing some r&d on my digital drum purchase.
A little background detail on me for those interested:
I have been a musician now for over 30 years...I'm currently 41 yrs of age. I play trumpet, coronet, sax, piano, guitar, drums/percussion, and sing. I love all music but most of all I love metal/rock...whatever it's branded these days. I have been professionally trained as a child, much to my dismay at the time...I'd rather been shooting my BB gun and riding my dirt bike with my friends instead of all those damn lessons! I originally wanted to be a drummer, but the orchestra/band leader at my school told mom and dad that he had enough drummers....he needed a trumpet/coronet player(s)....Ugh!!! I don't want to call myself a musical genious, which I am not, or a "prodigy" (love the band by the way) but my parents are very talented amateur musicians and I seem to have inherited some of their gift. Whatever I hear I can play.
Fast forward a few years...dad always said don't give up your day job! LOL! ( He also said if you want to earn money playing music, play country ) While pursuing my education, I am a Automation/Instrumentation/Electrical Engineer, I was offered a full time job as a jazz guitarist...thought about it...it was a lot of money...but turned it down to complete my degree. After graduation, I played for fun and profit, albeit very little, in several bands eventually touring with a couple and opening up for pro acts along the way and recording several cd's.