Author Topic: Alesis Real Heads  (Read 4409 times)

Alesis Real Heads
« on: November 29, 2010, 04:54:15 PM »
Hey everyone ... good forum!

Are the Alesis heads that come on a DM5 Pro Electronic Drum Set the same "Real Heads" that come on the newer DM10 Studio Kit. Different color but the same or similar Medeli heads.

I'm looking to upgrade my old TD-5 kit with PD-5 gum rubber pads so I'm looking at some cheap used deals on whole kits like the DM45 Pro or DM10 Studio. I bought a PDX-85 off Craigslist yesterday ($100) and I like the Roland bounce feel (I'm a guitarist / recordist). I will want to go into a local store 1st, just to see how the Alesis pads feel stock even though I do plan to do the Hellfire mod on all pads.

The DM10 module is preferable I know and with the DM5 - this is so cheap a Trigger I/O would be part of that plan. I'm recording into Sonar with S2.0 and other libs.

Basically the same? Advice for my situation?

TIA,

Mark

Re: Alesis Real Heads
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 04:57:47 PM »
EDIT: Sorry typos: "DM5 Pro" not "DM45 Pro"

Offline Bobby@NEMS

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 05:16:14 PM »
The DM5 came with a mylar head, but not the same design/setup as the RealHeads featured on the DM10 kits. It's the new Mideli design (DD-602 I think)

Dm10 is leaps and bounds over the DM5. However, if you're new to drumming (being a "guitarist/recordist") it might be a good place to start, as you can find some used ones alot cheaper than the DM10.
Bobby D.

Online Hellfire

« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2010, 09:38:16 PM »
The DM5 Pro pads and the DM10 pads are functionally the same. The only difference I could see is the DM5 Pro pads came with a white coated heads (DM10's were black smooth heads) and the mounting was more limited than the DM10 pads. That is because the DM5 Pro pads used a keyed "L" rod mount with a set screw (must use a drum key to tighten). The DM10 pad uses a standard round "L" rod with winged tension holder.