Author Topic: DM10 X Mesh - The way to go?  (Read 4192 times)

Offline Failed Muso

DM10 X Mesh - The way to go?
« on: October 23, 2016, 07:44:38 AM »
Afternoon all!

My name's Rob and I'm about to purchase a DM10 X Mesh kit (on order, collecting on Friday) but, before I do, I thought I'd ask a few questions of the learned masses here, just to set my mind at rest.

First off, I've been a drummer now for nigh on 35 years. I've played in numerous bands, mostly local, pub and club affairs, most certainly nothing of any note  ;) In the early 90s, after getting married and buying my first house, my (now-ex) wife persuaded me to sell my kit as I was on an unforced hiatus and so I parted with my beloved Tama Swingstar, Paiste metal and beloved Roto-Toms. As we neared the turn of the century, my step-grandfather passed away and left me some money. I'd been itching to start playing again and my marriage was on a downward spiral so I decided to invest in eletronic drums for a number of reasons. By this time, I had built a small home-studio and felt an electronic kit would fit in better from a MIDI perspective, and I just felt that eDrums would give me better value for money. So I invested in a Yamaha DTXpress as a starting point and found a band looking for a drummer. We gigged a lot and the DTXpress held up pretty well. After some years, and some pretty awful lead singer ego/band politics crap, I left and the drums once again started gathering dust, being pulled out every now and again just to blow the cobwebs off, both literally and figuratively.