Author Topic: DM-10X Soundset on Steroids  (Read 3706 times)

DM-10X Soundset on Steroids
« on: September 09, 2016, 08:41:43 PM »
Hi drummers,
firstly, let me introduce myself:
I'm a drummer/drum teacher from Germany and entered the whole world of E-Drums firstly because of the increasing interest of students in instruments for practicing at home. I mostly played accoustic drums and sampling pads.

So I went the same route like probably many of you, I bought an early DM-10 X for a valuable price but got more and more diappointed and frustrated with it's limitations the more I needed a real instrument for rehearsals and gigs.

I followed many of your posts with great interest concerning upgrading the kit and finding solutions for the weaknesses of the DM-10 in the last years.

My upgrade history consists of many "traditional stages": Mesh-head conversion, better HiHat pad and controller, mute-groups and piezo tweaks, Trigger I/O and finally the BlueJay soundset. But all these things were not really satisfying. About 3 years ago a followed a thread in the DMdrummer forum of a few guys who hacked the software of the module itself and this is where I investigated further hence the project ended suddenly even though it was very promising (I'm aware of possible legal problems, too!).

So finally here I present to you: My Frankenstein DM-10 X in a quite final stage!!! -It's fun to play for nearly a year now!
Specs:
-DM-10 X with highly modified bases of the 2-zone drum pads, all with mesh-head conversion.
-4-zone snare (center, off-center, rimshot and rimclick triggers), added side-snare.
-2 modules running tweaked soundsets, I sampled my accoustic WAHAN beechwood drum kit and merged these sounds with the complete Yamaha Maple Custom kit of the BlueJay set, Sounds of the stock set and the Recording Custom drum set of the EZdrummer program into 2 different soundsets
-all cymbals choke-able (2 with mute-groups)